DIY Project – Restored Bentwood Chair

February 9, 2012 § 4 Comments

I have always admired authentic bentwood furniture, particularly the Thonet Bistro Chair. Widely renowned as a design classic, I’ve often seen beautifully (and not so beautifully) restored pieces in antique shops for ridiculous prices and have been searching for one to restore myself for a few months now. Yesterday I was lucky enough to come a cross a real gem at a secondhand furniture shop in Southport. As the chair was in quite a sorry condition I got it for $20 and wasted no time in getting to work.
This is the chair in the condition I bought it, it was a yellowy cream colour and once I started sanding it back I realised it had been a number of other colours before that!

20120209-133951.jpg
I removed the seat from the frame of the chair, sanded the paint back, washed and dried the chair thoroughly and spray painted it in Dulux Satin Gloss White.

20120209-134137.jpg
I had a piece of foam cut to the size of the seat and chose a neutral coloured, printed cotton drill to cover the cushion with.

20120209-134416.jpg
After reattaching the seat to the frame of the chair it was finished and I am very happy with the results!

20120209-134800.jpg

20120209-134814.jpg
A custom restored, authentic bentwood piece for under $40! Now I just have to decide where to put this little beauty -C x

§ 4 Responses to DIY Project – Restored Bentwood Chair

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DIY Project – Restored Bentwood Chair at .

meta

